Opinion

Top Story

Recent Headlines

Wednesday 07/28/2021
YOUR VIEW: A vote for Bob Mielcarz for City Council, District 2
icon Posted: 28 July 2021 [09:00 PM]

To The Editor: I recently had the opportunity to hear Bob Mielcarz speak about his interest in running for City Council in District 2. I was very impressed with his thoughts and positive direction. As a retired teacher, he understands…

Monday 07/26/2021
YOUR VIEW: Jeff Caggiano releases his goals for Bristol, if elected
icon Posted: 26 July 2021 [08:34 PM]

To the Editor: Most Bristol residents are looking to resume normal activities and long for the freedoms and liberties that this country was founded upon.  Bristol is a big “small town,” with a diverse population that should be celebrated.  If…

Friday 07/23/2021
Wednesday 07/21/2021
YOUR VIEW: We must do better on climate for our children
icon Posted: 21 July 2021 [09:06 PM]

To the Editor: It's hot, and my 3-year-old is sweaty and curious. He always wants to know more about the world, and on Tuesday he asked me 'why is it like the fog but in the sky?' The haziness had…

Monday 07/19/2021
Friday 07/16/2021
Thursday 07/15/2021
YOUR VIEW: An endorsement for Lusitani for Bristol council
icon Posted: 15 July 2021 [09:07 PM]

To the Editor: I am a former Connecticut resident, having moved to Florida in 2015. I am 87 and have just about seen it all! So when I use the word guarantee, I use it very carefully! And this is…

Wednesday 07/14/2021
Monday 07/12/2021
Sunday 07/11/2021
YOUR VIEW: My pitch to donate food to those in need
icon Posted: 11 July 2021 [10:48 AM]

Dear Editor, This used to be solely a newspaper letter to the editor...but with the decrease in newspaper circulation, it's become mostly a virtual letter to the Bristol community. Here's my annual list to help those in need.  My garden…

Friday 07/09/2021
Thursday 07/08/2021
YOUR VIEW: Awake America! Before it's too late
icon Posted: 08 July 2021 [01:53 PM]

To the Editor: Americans are frogs in the pot of water being brought to the boil and cooked.  We ignore incremental chunks of our freedoms being chiseled away by Marxists determining our social mores. A co-founder of Black Lives Matter is…

Sunday 07/04/2021
Friday 07/02/2021
Wednesday 06/30/2021
Monday 06/28/2021
Friday 06/25/2021
Wednesday 06/23/2021
Monday 06/21/2021
Saturday 06/19/2021
Wednesday 06/16/2021
Monday 06/14/2021
Friday 06/11/2021
YOUR VIEW: Looking for those to help during disasters
icon Posted: 11 June 2021 [12:25 AM]

Dear Bristol Community: June starts the hurricane season.  Now is the time to prepare for this season with due diligence in our community.  Many of us take for granted that the city of Bristol will always be there for us…

Wednesday 06/09/2021
Sunday 06/06/2021
Friday 06/04/2021
YOUR VIEW: Shedding 'some light' on term limits debate
icon Posted: 04 June 2021 [08:28 PM]

To The Editor:   I submit this letter in direct response to the editorial by State Rep. Whit Betts on Friday, May 28. The people of  Bristol deserve accurate information, so I’d like to shed some light and answer some…

Wednesday 06/02/2021
Sunday 05/30/2021
Friday 05/28/2021
YOUR VIEW: Many thanks to PVAC vaccination clinic helpers
icon Posted: 28 May 2021 [08:54 PM]

To the Editor: I would like to take this opportunity to thank the many people for their support of the Plymouth Volunteer Ambulance Corps’ Covid Vaccination Clinic on Saturday, May 22. The weather was perfect, and we had such a…

YOUR VIEW: Term limits: I challenge Bristol mayor assertion
icon Posted: 28 May 2021 [08:53 PM]

To the Editor: I was one of the 80 percent of the Bristol voters who supported term limits in 2013. Clearly, this vote reflects very strong bi-partisan support. It is now 2021 – 8 years later – and suddenly the…

CHRIS POWELL: Can UConn really economize? And social promotion wins
icon Posted: 28 May 2021 [08:51 PM]

Congratulations may be in order for the University of Connecticut's Board of Trustees for discovering, upon the abrupt resignation of Thomas C. Katsouleas after less than two years on the job, that the university doesn't really need its own president.…

Wednesday 05/26/2021
Monday 05/24/2021
Friday 05/21/2021
YOUR VIEW: Time for the people to own the state's nursing homes
icon Posted: 21 May 2021 [09:06 PM]

To the Editor: Chris Powell is a designated hitter for the Herald/Press who swings for the fences at every at bat. He strikes out a lot, but hits a few home runs. His recent column “Should the state government take…

Wednesday 05/19/2021
Tuesday 05/18/2021
Monday 05/17/2021
Friday 05/14/2021
Wednesday 05/12/2021
Monday 05/10/2021
Friday 05/07/2021
Calendar