Detroit Pistons All-Star, former UConn standout Drummond highlights talented field for 27th annual Osgood Shootout

Published on Tuesday, 13 August 2019 16:36


NEW BRITAIN - The Osgood Shootout has been a staple of summer league basketball since 1993.

Now, the tournament is getting ready for its 27th annual showing beginning Saturday at New Britain High School. There is no cost to attend the games.

One again, the will be two divisions: the Men’s Open Division and the High School Division.

The Men’s Open Division will feature Detroit Pistons All-Star and former UConn standout Andre Drummond, who two weeks ago decided not to play for Team USA in the World Cup.

Teaming up with Drummond will be former Yale star Brandon Sherrod. Other players to watch will be former Quinnipiac star Chase Daniels, Paul Harris (Syracuse), Keith Cothran and Kuran Iverson (Rhode Island), Ryen Vilmont (Franklin Pierce), Donovin Ford-Hayes (Becker College), Jerry Buchanan (the all-time leading scorer in NECC history), Shay Ajay (Trinity College), Levi Gillespie and Don Jarrett (Post University); Nate Gause (Lemoye College) and Brian Moore (Howard University).

Local players who will be on display this weekend will be Roosevelt Lee, Shon Jones and Darius Watson, all former New Britain High School stars. They will be playing on different teams. Other teams will come from Springfield, Massachusetts; New York; Boston; New Haven; Waterbury; Hartford; Bridgeport and other surrounding cities.

In the High School Division, teams are entered from New Britain, Middletown, New Haven, Waterbury, West Haven, Hartford, Meriden and Windsor.

The Osgood Shootout also awards scholarships to recent New Britain High School graduates as they get set to enter their freshman year of college.

This year’s scholarship award recipients are Brianna Clarke (Roger Williams University), Isaiah Jenkins (Central Connecticut State University), Kevin Slisz Jr. (UConn) and Elijah Watson (American International College). All four will be awarded $500. For the fourth year, the Albert A.Vieira scholarship will be awarded to Mya Stewart (Tunxis Community College) and Valentina Hernandez (Southern Connecticut State University). Both will receive $250.

David Glovach can be reached at (860) 801-5085 or

Posted in The Bristol Press, General Sports, UConn on Tuesday, 13 August 2019 16:36. Updated: Tuesday, 13 August 2019 18:19.