Plymouth Volunteer Ambulance Corps names June recipient

Published on Thursday, 30 June 2022 13:33


PLYMOUTH – The Plymouth Volunteer Ambulance Corps (PVAC) has named Cynthia Badenhop as the June recipient of the PVAC Proud community award.

The award is presented monthly to individuals or organizations, nominated by the community, that go "above and beyond" to help the town.

Bonnie Doughty-Jenkins, president of the PVAC Board of Directors, said that Badenhop was nominated in recognition of her continued support over the years and her "amazing contribution" as a Board of Directors member and secretary.

"Cindy is amazing," said Doughty-Jenkins. "She even recruited her husband, Dennis, to help out with traffic at all of our Covid vaccination clinics. She's such an asset. Cynthia often speaks fondly of being involved with PVAC so long that she remembers when they would go door to door collecting funds for the corps."

Brandon Johndro, chief of service with the PVAC, added that Badenhop is "always willing to lend a hand where help is needed."

Badenhop said that receiving the PVAC Proud Award was a "very special honor."

"It means so much that you were thinking of me and it is truly appreciated," she said in an email to her fellow board members.

The Truman Gustafson PVAC Proud award is named after Truman Gustafson, who was one of the founders of PVAC when it was established in 1968. The board of directors meets to decide the recipient from among nominees.

Doughty-Jenkins said anyone can nominate someone for this award.

"If there is a member, crew, etc. that you feel has gone 'above and beyond' or a citizen or business that has shown a spirit of assisting and helping the community, please contact myself or any Board of Directors member," she said. "I can be reached by writing to me in care of PVAC 191 Main St, Terryville, CT."

For more information on the Plymouth Volunteer Ambulance Corps, visit

Brian M. Johnson can be reached at 860-973-1806 or

Posted in The Bristol Press, Plymouth, Terryville on Thursday, 30 June 2022 13:33. Updated: Thursday, 30 June 2022 13:35.