Plymouth Democratic Town Committee announces slate of candidates

Published on Thursday, 29 July 2021 12:25


PLYMOUTH – The Plymouth Democratic Town Committee has announced their slate of candidates, with chair Erin King as the “interim mayoral candidate.”

Because of COVID-19, the state Democratic Party established the rule that candidates were to be chosen by DTC members only at a specified DTC meeting instead of by party caucus. King said that the chosen slate includes “longtime community volunteers” and public servants with decades of experience as well as newcomers looking to serve the town.

“It’s a really fantastic group of folks running on the ticket this year,” she said. “I am very excited about the wonderful group we’ve brought together. We are all so appreciative of the candidates for stepping up, and we are ready to get down to the business of getting them elected to make our town even better.”

King said that the Plymouth DTC’s “pledge for progress” is to engage voters and to be “the party of the people.”

“Our mission is to recruit members, support candidates for office, champion business opportunities, and promote excellence in our schools,” she said. “We celebrate equality for all, environmental protections, fiscal accountability, open and transparent government, and a positive, forward thinking community mindset. Strong economic development, community service, and quality of life equals a better Plymouth.”

While King is listed on the ballot as the interim mayoral candidate, she hinted that another candidate may be announced in the near future.

“In the past, we've nominated an interim candidate for mayor in July because we were still looking for a candidate, and we have made that very clear,” she said. “I’m pleased to say that I do not believe that is the case today. We believe we have found an excellent candidate to lead Plymouth forward, and we think the voters will agree. However, as has come up a number of times over the past year, most people must rearrange their work and family priorities in order to make running for Mayor possible. This is the case today. This person first needs to organize their personal and professional life in order to make a full commitment to the business of leading Plymouth. Our nominating committee is respecting this person’s request to provide them with a little more time in order to get their affairs in order before committing to run for the highest office in town. We strongly believe our candidate, once formally announced, will win your attention -- and your votes,” she said.

The endorsed Democratic Town Council candidates are Lynn Rugh, Peter Gianesini Sr., James Mozelak, Brett Festa, and Susan Boilard.

For the Board of Education, the Plymouth Democratic Town Committee has endorsed candidates Richard Foote, Patrick Perugino and Ellen Roth.

The Democratic Town Committee has also Victoria Carey and David Sekorski for the Finance Board and Briana Brumaghim to fill a vacancy on the Finance Board.

The Democratic Town Committee has endorsed four constable candidates; Sally Barnes, Vito Flammia III, Brandon Johndro and John Rugh.

The Library Trustee candidates endorsed by the Democratic Town Committee include Lisa Bower Courtney, Christine Alvarado Judd and Virginia Lee Ulinskas. Additionally, they have endorsed Alesia M. LeDuc to fill a vacancy.

Jerry Fedorovich is the Democratic Town Committee’s endorsed candidate for treasurer.

The Democratic Town Committee has not endorsed any candidates for tax collector, town clerk or the Board of Assessment Appeals.

King encouraged “anyone who has ever thought of running for mayor or any other elected office in town – now, or in the future”, to reach out.

“A major task that continues to be ahead of the group is to grow the next generation of candidates,” she said. “Future mayors are no doubt to be found among the current members of boards and commissions, our local volunteers, and our students. We would be delighted to start providing support and experience immediately to our mayoral candidate of, say, the year 2031.”

Those interested in becoming candidates are encouraged to email King at or call her at 860-940-0718.

Brian M. Johnson can be reached at 860-973-1806 or

Posted in The Bristol Press, Plymouth, Terryville on Thursday, 29 July 2021 12:25. Updated: Thursday, 29 July 2021 12:27.