Tunxis students inducted into PTK Honor Society

Published on Monday, 17 May 2021 12:58
Written by


The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) at Tunxis Community College in Farmington announced the names of 99 students who accepted membership in the honor society. They were formally recognized on May 5 at two virtual induction ceremonies hosted by the college.

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society of two-year colleges. To achieve eligibility for PTK, a student must complete at least 12 hours of associate degree course work and earn a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 or higher. Throughout their enrollment, they must maintain high academic standing, generally a 3.0 GPA. About 130,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa each year.

The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Tunxis provides opportunities for more than 300 members in leadership, community service, scholarly fellowship and academic excellence. The chapter was recognized this spring with a REACH Reward for membership development, given to chapters that achieve or exceed a 15 percent membership acceptance rate during the year. Each semester, student members participate in service and research projects to help their college and communities, and are eligible to apply for over $90 million in scholarships reserved exclusively for PTK members.

The new members of PTK, listed by towns of residence, are:


Katia Abdelmoula

Isaiah Bernazal

Madelyn Bourassa

Alexandria Briere

Ilyzia Cardona

Cecilia Dallaire

Christian Deleon

Zinah Erzaij

Isaiah Fillian

Katelyn Gingery

Jennifer Gravelle

Jamie Haines

Melanie Hernandez

Vanessa Holmes

Cheryl Keddy

Olivia Mike

Ariana Ortiz

Lindsay Perrone

Maya Phairoj

Robert Pike

Ashley Portes

Anthony Reyes

Sarah Richardson

Cassandra Sanchez

Courtnie Sanchez

Samantha Seger

Shyann Swanson

Noah Taber

Jennifer Tarallo

Jade Vigue

Tiffany Virgo

Stephanie Vita

New Britain

Anas Abdulai

Juan Brito Veras

Jordan Daniels

Stephanie DeMarco

Keisuan Garcia

Jessica Guzman

Oussama Larhlimi

Bethany Paradis

Nicole Pleckaitis

Renan Puglia

Mario Salza

Anggriyani Soebroto


Joanna Domitrz

Wyatt Rita

Angelica Rosario

Alexander Santos

Samantha Smith

Jessica Vaughn


Michael Williamson


Carissa Cayer

Darian Dube

Allyson Frazier

Denisa Halilaj

Emily Hanson

Kristen Longley

Sharon Maher

Hannah Platt

Jenna Sheehan

Estefany Solis


Jasmine Christiano

Ingrid Rubeor

Posted in The Bristol Press, Bristol, Plainville, Plymouth, Southington Herald, Terryville on Monday, 17 May 2021 12:58. Updated: Monday, 17 May 2021 13:00.