Southington Paraeducator of the Year announced

Published on Wednesday, 26 June 2019 20:04
Written by Timothy Connellan

Southington Superintendent of Schools

SOUTHINGTON – Timothy Connellan, Superintendent of Schools has announced that Caroline Turek, paraeducator at Derynoski Elementary School, has been chosen as the 2020 Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year for the Town of Southington.

Turek’s name has been submitted to the Connecticut State Department of Education and the School Paraeducator Advisory Council, as a nominee for the 2020 Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year.

Turek was hired in Aug. 1997 as a part-time paraeducator at Derynoski Elementary School. In Aug. 1999, she was offered a full-time position at Derynoski Elementary School.

“Her colleagues describe her as a valuable team player with all the characteristics and skills needed to be an outstanding paraeducator,” said Connellan. “She coaches students on how to be good friends to one-another and helps them with coping skills. Ms. Turek provides a safe and happy learning environment and is a great friend and colleague. The Southington Public Schools are proud to be represented by Caroline Turek as our 2020 Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year.”

Posted in The Bristol Press, Southington Herald on Wednesday, 26 June 2019 20:04. Updated: Wednesday, 26 June 2019 20:07.