American Savings Foundation awards scholarships to 120 students, many from area

Published on Friday, 12 August 2022 15:59
Written by Ciara Hooks


NEW BRITAIN – Another year, another round of deserving Robert T. Kenney Scholarships recipients have been awarded. The American Savings Foundation announced it has awarded 120 local students the scholarship, including a large number of students from New Britain.

“While so much has changed over the past three years, we are proud that the Robert T. Kenney Scholarship Program continues to support local students as they pursue their dreams of a college education,” said Maria Falvo, president and CEO.

These scholars will be attending two-year and four-year colleges and technical/vocational programs in Connecticut and across the country. While most are incoming freshmen, the Foundation awards first-time scholarship to returning college students as well as to adult nontraditional students.

“We are proud to welcome this new class of scholars,” Falvo said.

Current Robert T. Kenney Scholars have the opportunity to reapply, and most scholars receive support for all four years of college, which the Foundation believes is very important.

“We’ve seen how important it is for students to have consistency, and during covid we actually streamlined our renewal re-application process so that the students could just have a little easier time coming back and letting us know how they’re doing,” Falvo said. “Most of our scholars do get the scholarship for all four years and I think that consistency has been really helpful through covid because so much has changed, our current scholars have gone through a lot of disruption so we try to be steady, supportive and consistent.”

The Foundation has made recent changes to the renewal process allowing current scholars more time to reapply, meaning renewal awards will be announced in the fall.

“Despite the many challenges that high school and college students have faced over the past three years, our Robert T. Kenney Scholars continue to show remarkable resiliency.” said Heather Hokunson, the Foundation’s scholarship program officer. “We want to do everything we can to make the renewal of their scholarship one less worry as they navigate the college process.”

The Foundation projects that a total of 398 Robert T. Kenney Scholars will receive a total of $825,000 for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The new 2022-2023 Robert T. Kenney Scholars from the area include:


Sarah Al Mozani, Berlin High School

Shanna Lennehan, Eastern Connecticut State University


Genevieve Dailey, University of Saint Joseph

Adrianna Dell’Aera, Bristol Central High School

Taylor Lorenzetti, St. Paul Catholic High School

Marcia Marquis, Bristol Eastern High school

Sophia Nocera, Bristol Eastern High School

Mitchell Peterson, Bristol Central High School

Jazmin Recinos, E.C Goodwin Technical High School

Noah Taylor, Bristol Central High School

New Britain    

Layla Addy, E.C. Goodwin Technical High School

Brian Aguirre, New Britain High School

Ghadah Alhasani, E.C. Goodwin Technical High School

Arafat Alqatabi, New Britain High School

Sahar Alwishah, New Britain High School

Eiet Anaam, CREC Academy of Science & Innovation

Michael Benalcazar, New Britain High School

Ashley Beslanga, University of Saint Joseph

Kimberly Beslanga, New Britain High School

Xavier Bryant, New Britain High School

Marcus Caccio, New Britain High School

Maria Caceres, E.C. Goodwin Technical High School

Stephen Charneco, New Britain High School

Danida Forbes, University of Connecticut

Jordy Franco, Academy of Science and Innovation

Angelica Gajewski, Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy

Nathaniel Gardner, Academy of Aerospace & Engineering

Faith Gibson, New Britain High School

Lismaniely Gonzales, New Britain High School

Taliah Green, New Britain High School

Cadence Hughes, New Britain High School

Wilkins Irizarry, New Britain High School

Marion Johnson, New Britain High school

Julia Kaminska, New Britain High School

Saadat Khan, New Britain High School

Yandelis Lantigua, New Britain High School

Kylee Lapointe, New Britain High School

George Lara, New Britain High School

Lailianna-Faith Mejia, New Britain High School

Kaltuma Mohamed, E.C Goodwin Technical High School

Julia Nalewajek, New Britain High School

Noora Nassir, New Britain High School

Stella Ofei, Eastern Connecticut State University

Randy Opoku, New Britain High School

Marlena Polski, Eastern Connecticut State University

Jonathan Reyes, E.C. Goodwin Technical High School

Abby Roy, New Britain High School

Layla Ruiz, New Britain High School

Adonis Sabourin, New Britain High School

Itati Serrano, New Britain High School

Isaac Shields, New Britain High School

Chris Soto, New Britain High School

Christopher Stasiak, New Britain High School

Joshua Torres, New Britain High School

Jazlyn Urena, New Britain High School

Keniel Villanueva, New Britain High School


Shakir Smith, Newington High School


Leanne Edwards, Northwest Catholic High School

Zachary Michaels, Plainville High School

Daniel Sozanski, Plainville High School


Kha Ngo, University of Connecticut

Posted in The Bristol Press, Bristol, Plainville, Southington Herald on Friday, 12 August 2022 15:59. Updated: Friday, 12 August 2022 16:01.