AUGUST MADNESS: Bristol to host three Eastern Regional tournaments starting Saturday

Published on Thursday, 4 August 2022 10:22
Written by Cameron Beall


BRISTOL – The road to Williamsport, PA will once again go through Bristol for 12 state champions vying for three bids to the 2022 Little League World Series. Beginning on Saturday, the A. Bartlett Giamatti Little League Leadership Training Center in Bristol will be the home of the New England, Mid-Atlantic and the newly appointed Metro Regional Tournaments.

The Metro Region is one of two new regions in the United States, along with the Mountain Region. The Panama and Puerto Rico Regions were also added as a part of the expansion from 16 to 20 teams in the LLWS. The Metro is comprised of Connecticut, Rhode Island (formerly of New England), New York and New Jersey (formerly of Mid-Atlantic).

Fairfield American will be Connecticut’s representative competing with Cumberland of Rhode Island, Massapequa Coast of New York and Toms River East of New Jersey.

In the New England Region, Concord will represent New Hampshire along with Middleboro of Massachusetts, Bangor East of Maine and Brattleboro of Vermont.

The Mid-Atlantic Region is sending Northwest Washington out of Washington D.C., Hollidaysburg Area Summer Baseball League from Pennsylvania, Conococheague of Maryland and Naamans from Delaware.

The madness will get underway on Saturday at 10 a.m. with Maine and Vermont out of the New England bracket followed by their peers from New Hampshire and Massachusetts at 1 p.m.

The Metro tournament will kick off next with New York and New Jersey squaring off at 4 p.m. Rhode Island and Connecticut will get going at 7 p.m. 

The Mid-Atlantic will get their opening round started Sunday morning once again at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. Washington D.C. and Pennsylvania have the first game followed by Maryland and Delaware.

New England will crown their champion first on Thursday, August 11 starting at 5 p.m. The Mid-Atlantic and Metro championships will come the following day at 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. respectively.

A season ago Pennsylvania and New Hampshire moved on to the LLWS from Bristol. The two victors defeated eventual members of the Metro region in New Jersey and Connecticut.

The last Little League World Series Champion to go through the East Region was as recent as 2016 when Maine-Endwell Little League from New York defeated South Korea for the title.

Admission to all games is free and seating is on a first-come, first-serve basis. Eastern Regional Tournament games will also be aired on the ESPN family of networks including ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPN+.

Posted in The Bristol Press, General Sports on Thursday, 4 August 2022 10:22. Updated: Thursday, 4 August 2022 10:24.