Eight additional past champions commit to Travelers Championship

Published on Friday, 8 June 2018 18:37
Written by TYLER ROAIX


HARTFORD - The Travelers Championships announced Friday eight new additions to a growing field for the 2018 tournament.

Russell Knox, Kevin Streelman, Ken Duke, Marc Leishman, Freddie Jacobson, Stewart Cink, Hunter Mahan and J.J. Henry have all signed on to compete in this season’s tournament. All eight players have won the Travelers before.

Knox is in his 12th season on the PGA Tour and has two career victories, including the 2016 Travelers. Knox has appeared in 20 tournaments so far this season, tallying three top-10 finishes.

Streelman has been a professional since 2001. He won the 2014 Travelers in record fashion, birdying the final seven holes, the most ever to close a final round. He won the tournament by just one stroke. He has won two PGA tournaments in his career.

Duke’s only PGA tournament victory came in the 2013 Travelers. He outlasted Chris Stroud in a two-hole playoff.

Leishman won the 2012 tournament with a fourth-round 62 to win the tournament. The mark is the second best round he has shot as a pro. Leishman has three career victories.

The 2011 Travelers is the only PGA victory in Jacobson’s 24-year career. The veteran outlasted a field where eight players finished within five shots of the winning score.

Cink remains a familiar face in golf. Since turning pro in 1995, Cink has captured six PGA wins, including the 2008 Travelers. Cink’s best performance was winning the 2009 Open Championship, Cink’s last PGA Tour victory.

Mahan out his stamp on the PGA in 2007 when he picked up first career win at the Travelers, beating Jay Williamson in a playoff. He has six career tournament wins under his belt and has played on four Presidents Cup teams and three Ryder Cups teams.

Henry, originally from Fairfield, secured his first career win at the 2006 Travelers. Henry has made an appearance at every Travelers Championship since 1998.

“These eight players are part of the Travelers Championship family,” tournament director Nathan Grube said in a statement. “It’s always great for us and our fans to see our past champions, so we’re thrilled that so many have decided to come back and compete this year.”

The tournament will be held June 18-24 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell.

Posted in The Bristol Press, General Sports on Friday, 8 June 2018 18:37. Updated: Friday, 8 June 2018 20:02.