Travelers Championship adds six more to field, three pros and three amateurs

Published on Wednesday, 6 June 2018 21:28
Written by TYLER ROAIX


HARTFORD - The Travelers Championship added six more players to the field Wednesday afternoon, three professionals and three amateurs.

PGA Tour golfers Xander Schauffele, Patrick Cantlay and Aaron Wise have all signed on to take part in the tournament the tournament announced, while Doug Ghim, Nick Hardy and Dylan Meyer all received exemptions to play in the Travelers as well.

Schauffele won two PGA Tour events last year, which earned him honors as Rookie of the Year and a third-place finish in the FedEx Cup standings. He finished tied for 14th in the Travelers Championship last season and is currently the 26th-ranked golfer in the world, accoring to PGA Tour’s website.

Cantlay is no stranger to the Travelers. He played in the event as an amateur in 2011. He shot a 10-under 60 in the second round that year, which became a PGA Tour record for lowest score by an amateur in a PGA event. He was just 19 years old at the time and still a student at UCLA. He went pro in 2012 and has recorded one PGA win, this season’s Shriner’s Hospitals for Children Open.

Wise is the 72nd-ranked golfer in the world, despite only turning professional in 2017. He picked up his first and only PGA Tour win at this season’s AT&T Byron Nelson.

Ghim is currently the top-ranked amateur golfer in the world. Ghim has a successful career at Texas the last four seasons, even winning the 2018 Ben Hogan Award. He had the best amateur at the Master’s this year, finishing in a tie for 50th. The Travelers will be his professional debut.

Hardy helped take Illinois to the NCAA semifinals three of his four seasons with the school. He won two Big Ten individual titles and was named an All-American twice. He was also named the Player of the Year for the conference in 2018.

Meyer was Hardy’s teammate at Illinois. His best season was 2017, his junior year, when he was named an All-American, won the conference individual title and was the Player of the Year. He competed in the U.S. Open this season as an amateur and will make his first appearance as a professional at the Travelers.

The players join a top-notch field, including defending-Travelers champion Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Rory McIlroy and Jason Day. Other commitments include Paul Casey, Patrick Reed, Bubba Watson, Bryson DeChambeau, Charley Hoffman, Zach Johnson and Jim Furyk.

The tournament will be held June 18-24 at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell.

Tyler Roaix can be reached at

Posted in The Bristol Press, General Sports on Wednesday, 6 June 2018 21:28. Updated: Wednesday, 6 June 2018 22:02.