Furyk, Johnson, DeChambeau commit to play at Travelers Championship

Published on Tuesday, 24 April 2018 14:09


HARTFORD - The Travelers Championship continues to add big names to its upcoming field.

Jim Furyk, Zach Johnson and Bryson DeChambeau have committed to play in the 2018 tournament the Travelers Championship announced Tuesday.

The trio will join a field that already includes 2018 Masters champion Patrick Reed, Rory McIlroy, Justin Thomas, Bubba Watson, Paul Casey and Charley Hoffman.

“It’s exciting to see some of the top PGA Tour professionals continue to commit to our tournament,” tournament director Nathan Grube said in a statement. “Jim, Zach and Bryson all bring an incredible level of talent to our field, which continues to get better year after year.”

Furyk has had plenty of success at TPC River Highlands. He set the PGA Tour scoring record when he shot a 12-under-par 58 in the final round of the 2016 Travelers Championship. It led to a tie for fifth place, one of two times Furyk finished in the top five at the event.

Furyk, a 47-year-old from Pennsylvania, has won 17 times on the PGA TOUR, including the 2003 U.S. Open. After playing on nine Ryder Cup teams, Furyk will captain the U.S. side this year when the matches are held in France.

Johnson is a 12-time Tour winner. His most recent victory was at the 2015 British Open, where he beat Marc Leishman and Louis Oosthuizen in a playoff at St. Andrews.

Johnson, 42, won his first major championship in 2007 at the Masters. Johnson has made the cut in all 11 stroke-play starts this season, with seven top-25 finishes. His best finish at the Travelers Championship was a tie for third place in 2004. Johnson has also appeared on five Ryder Cup and four Presidents Cup teams.

DeChambeau is in his second full season on the PGA Tour. He broke through at the 2017 John Deere Classic for his first Tour victory. This will be DeChambeau’s third appearance at the Travelers Championship.

The 24-year-old has four top-10 finishes this season, including second place at the Arnold Palmer Invitational and a third-place tie at the RBC Heritage. Besides his early success on the PGA Tour, DeChambeau captured the U.S. Amateur and NCAA Championship in 2015. He became the fifth player to win both events in the same year, joining Jack Nicklaus, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods and Ryan Moore.

The 2018 Travelers Championship will be held June 18-24, and tickets are available. For more information on this year’s tournament, visit www.TravelersChampionship.com .

Posted in The Bristol Press, General Sports on Tuesday, 24 April 2018 14:09. Updated: Tuesday, 24 April 2018 14:12.