Tramps name 2018 honorees, scholarship winners

Published on Tuesday, 19 December 2017 22:53
Written by

Staff report

The Bristol Tramps organization will hold its 48th Bristol Tramps Sports Reunion dinner at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington on Friday, April 6.

The organization annually honors individuals and teams which have achieved significant sports and academic accomplishments. Also, scholarships are presented to a senior from each of Bristol’s high schools.

The following have been selected as honorees for this year’s event.

1986-87 Bristol Eastern girls basketball team (Julie Larese Team Award): Coached by Tony Floyd, the 1986-87 team captured the Class L state championship, one of four state championships achieved by girls teams at Bristol Eastern High School.

Ryan Cook (Ron Choiniere Award): Fifteen-year-old Ryan was diagnosed with William’s Syndrome just before his second birthday. Despite having this development disorder, which affects many parts of the body, he participated in athletics and competed in both track and cross country at Terryville High School.

Darrell Darby (Harp Broderick Award): A basketball captain at St. Paul, Darby continued his career at Webber College in Florida and won the NLCAA championship in 1984. He has coached numerous girls sports teams throughout the years, including softball, soccer and basketball.

Chris D’Amato (Chuck McCarthy Award): A Bristol Eastern baseball and basketball captain in 1994, D’Amato went on to play on two national championship baseball teams for ECSU and earned a tournament MVP award. He has also coached several successful softball teams during his career at Bristol Eastern.

Oak Hill Sports and Fitness (Tony Savino Award): Located on Upson Street in Bristol, the goal of the facility is to empower the physically disabled to adopt healthier lifestyles by engaging in adaptive and supportive exercise and health education.

Steve Roberts (Ed Lodovico Award): A Bristol Central athlete who was a standout in baseball, Roberts also played for the 1974 Bristol American Legion World Series team and several championship teams in the Connecticut Senior Men’s Baseball League.

Jill Nocera Swanson (Committee Award): Nocera Swanson was a captain in three sports at Bristol Central, earning 11 varsity letters, and was chosen an All-State player in softball. She received a full athletic scholarship and played at softball at the University of Vermont.

Chryss Watts (Lidia Jabs Bailey Award): Watts was a three-sport All-State athlete at Bristol Eastern who continued her career in college, playing basketball and participating in track and field at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She was named captain of the U.S. Women’s Handball Team and participated in the 1996 Olympics.

Spec Monico (Bill Garrett Award): Monico has long been part of the Bristol sports community as a coach and player. As manager of the Bristol American Legion team, his teams captured two state and five Zone 1 titles. His 2008 team participated in the American Legion World Series.

Julie Larese Memorial Scholarships: Winners are Maggie Santacroce of Bristol Eastern (Patricia D’Amato Memorial Scholarship), Pat Kjornrattanawanich of Bristol Central (Frank Scalia Memorial Scholarship) and Kendall Davis of St. Paul (John E. Tavera Memorial Scholarship).

“Following a long-time tradition of recognizing sports and academic excellence, the Bristol Tramps are pleased to announce this year’s honorees,” stated Tramps chairman Sean Moore. “We look forward to another well-attended event in April.”

Tickets for the evening are $40 and can be purchased by calling Dan Valerio at 860-490-5128 or Frank Owsianko at 860-302-4133, emailing or contacting any other Bristol Tramps director.

For more information on the event and director contacts, visit the Bristol Tramps website at

Posted in The Bristol Press, General Sports on Tuesday, 19 December 2017 22:53. Updated: Tuesday, 19 December 2017 22:55.