Tunxis students accepted into PKT

Published on Friday, 8 June 2018 21:55
Written by Tunxis Community College

FARMINGTON - The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at Tunxis Community College has announced the names of more than 100 students who accepted membership in the honor society. They were formally recognized recently at an induction ceremony.

PTK is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor fraternity of two-year colleges. To achieve eligibility for PTK, students must complete at least 12 hours of associate degree course work and earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher

The Alpha Iota Alpha Chapter of PTK at Tunxis provides opportunities for over 300 members in leadership, community service, scholarly fellowship and academic excellence. Each semester, student members participate in service and research projects to help their college and communities, and are eligible to apply for over $90 million in scholarships reserved exclusively for PTK members.

The new members of PTK, listed by towns of residence, are:


Mary Barrett, Lorraine Papacoda.


Chelsea Almori, Lisa Calderoni, Ryan Damboise, Giovanni Diaz, Nathan Duffy, Jon Girard, Michele Hernandez, Jessica Horvath, Theresa Little, Alyssa Marin.

Shannon Michelson, Afkar Mubarek, Christian Nugra, Peter O’Dell, Kelsea Paradis, Arielle Pease, Katarzyna Plewa, Melanie Rahuba, Taylor Rehmer, Aubrey Strong.

Joseph Taillon, Catherine Thai, Ashley Torvinen, Sara Triplett, Yvonne Zettervall.


Jillian Bogli, Christian Drehmann.

New Britain

Stephen Brier-Gagliardi, Amy Bryda, Linda Connors, Gina Dinguis, Brandi Durity, Leniel Flores, Zuzanna Jablonska, Chil Liu, Antonio Marti, Susan McCarthy, Karah Mcnamara.

Laura Ortegon, Martha Padilla, Darae Park, Jayadevi Singh, Marcin Stopyra, Alexys Thomas, Samantha Traunfeld, Karina Ukhnitska.


Kayla Clark.


Eric Dougherty, Sage Maier, Shannon O’Connor, Nicholas Petrucci, Ania Scott, Rachel Warner.


Derek Hinton.


Samantha-Jo Czarnecki, Kyle Deangelo, Patrycja Duliban, Vraja Gandhi, Rajvee Ramji, Matthew Touma, Penny Yovina.


Adam Stanko.

Posted in The Bristol Press, General News on Friday, 8 June 2018 21:55. Updated: Friday, 8 June 2018 22:02.