Bristol Tramps announce award recipients, scholarship winners for 49th annual recognition and sports reunion dinner

Published on Thursday, 3 January 2019 15:03
Written by

Staff report

The Bristol Tramps have announced the award recipients and scholarship winners for its Friday, April 26, recognition and sports reunion dinner.

This year’s 49th anniversary event will be held at the Aqua Turf Club, with dinner starting at 7 p.m.

The honorees are as follows:

Leonard Bagni (Chuck McCarthy Award) - He still plays golf at age 92 as a 68-year member of the Pequabuck Golf Club. He held the course record for many years.

Jillian Sullivan (Lydia Bailey Jabs Award) - She competed for four years of cross country, indoor track and outdoor track at Bristol Central, six times as a captain. She was an All-State in cross country three years and one year in outdoor track.

Bristol Central 2010 cross country team (Julie Larese Team Award) - The team won the school’s first-ever boys cross country state title. Coached by Tamara Stafford-Kirk, key runners were captains Mike Duprey and Connor Kelley, along with Jacob Eschner, Brendan Gonsalves, Spencer Johnson, Jake Mancini and Ethan Washburn.

Joe DeFillippi (Bill Garrett Award) - He played football, basketball and baseball at Bristol Central, where he was a two-team captain. He was a longtime coach at the school who is a BSHOF inductee and Ralph Papazian Leadership Award recipient.

Michael Beaudoin (Harp Broderick Award) - He played baseball and basketball at Bristol Eastern, followed by baseball at Fairfield University. He was the Greater Hartford Twilight League MVP and was drafted and signed by the Texas Rangers. He coached at Bristol Eastern and is an inductee of the Bristol Sports Hall of Fame.

Mark Monnerat (Ed Lodovico Award) - He coached 42 years at St. Matthew’s and St. Joseph’s schools. He was an assistant coach of St. Paul’s state championship team. His St. Matthew’s team won the state title and was runner-up in New England in 1981.

Harrison McKinstry IV (Ron Choiniere Award) - A wrestling team captain and football player at Bristol Central, he was later injured in a construction accident that left him in a coma for three months before becoming wheelchair-bound. Years of hard work has allowed him to compete in long distance road races using his special customized racing chair.

Phil Mannarino (Coach Dan Valerio Committee Award - He was a standout four-year, three-sport athlete at St. Anthony’s before four years of baseball at CCSU, serving as a captain as a senior. He went on to successfully coach high school sports.

Bristol Central Unified Sports (Tony Savino “Pay it Forward” Award) - Named in honor of the late executive director of the Tramps, Tony’s philosophy of “paying it forward” is a concept that he endorsed to many local organizations. It is given to deserving sports organizations or charities.

The scholarship recipients will be: Pacifico Flores of Bristol Central (Julie Larese/Frank Scalia Memorial Scholarship), Aliana Rivoira of Bristol Eastern (Julie Larese/ Patricia D’Amato Memorial Scholarship) and Adam VanLinter of St. Paul (Julie Larese/John E. Tavera Memorial Scholarship).

Tickets cost $40 each and they, along with table reservations, can be obtained by contacting Frank Owsianko at (860) 302-4133 or, Dan Valerio at (860) 490-5128, or other committee members: Kathy Archibald, Tony Carrier, Lance Chase, Gary Fleming, Dave Greenleaf, Maryellen Holden, John Lodovico, Spec Monico, Bob Montgomery, Sean Moore, Frank Owsianko, Donna Papazian, Joe Tavera and Dan Valerio.

Posted in The Bristol Press, Bristol Central, Bristol Eastern, General Sports, St. Paul on Thursday, 3 January 2019 15:03. Updated: Thursday, 3 January 2019 15:05.